GOODBYE MY SWEET CHEVY MALIBU

my-chevytotaled

Yesterday morning, I slammed into the back of a DHL Delivery Van and totaled my car of 10 years. I was at fault, I’m pretty shaken up about it,  and my neck and back are a little sore, but that’s not what this post is about.  It is about all the sweet, funny, not so funny, and sad moments I experienced in that Chevy Malibu.  I literally teared up today because I didn’t even get to say goodbye to her, instead my “knight in shining armor” went to the body shop today in my stead to gather up all of my personal belongings (mostly junk) that I had left behind before they do to her whatever it is they do to irreparable vehicles (which I honestly don’t want to think about).

10 years is a long time to have a car.  She wasn’t much in the end, but she was mine.  Not sure if it was the fact that I’m happy to just have something simple that gets me around, or the fact that she had been paid off since day 1, but I have a feeling it has more to do with the fact that a decade finally came to an end.  My “Malibu Era”.

The Malibu Era saw 180,000 miles of growing up, self-discovery, shitty relationships, school, gigs, and stretches of Florida from Miami to Orlando on more occasions than I can even remember.  Although she held up as long as she did, she did not run without the occasional trouble, and more recently the troubles started to become more prominent.  The blinker worked sporadically, the AC had been fixed at least 3 times, and she had strange electrical problems I liked to attribute to “gremlins”.  Still, even so, I’m a sentimental, in fact it’s probably for the best it happened this way – I always said I would drive her until she would no longer run – I would step out and say, “Thank you” and simply walk away.

So goodbye sweet Malibu.  Thank you for being so reliable (for the most part) for so long, Thank you for all the memories good and bad, from the stormy drives to Miami, the steamy make-outs, the quick changes, the multiple flat tires, the 4 times you were towed, the 98 degree summers  with no AC, the random animals we braked for and encountered (to include peacocks, chickens, and that awful dead rat I discovered in your back seat during our South Beach summer.  Thank you.

Most importantly, thank you for getting me where I needed to go.

Image

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

