I LIKE FUN…

This past week and a half  has been insane, and that is why I am blogging on a Friday.  With all of the craziness I simply could not find he time until now.  Ooooookkkkaaaaayyyy…

Week in Review JUN 1 – errr…. we’ll stop on Tuesday, JUN 8… Ok – yes, I went to TAKEOVR on TUESDAY, which has now become a weekly thing for me I guess, and I’m not bored yet, so I will continue to go until something better comes my way.  WEDNESDAY night I was supposed to be UP! @ SKYSIXTY but a hurricane came through – not exactly ‘rooftop spinning’ weather, so I stayed in and watched Best In Show with a friend.  THURSDAY evening I attended PLAYGROUND Magazine’s Summer Issue Launch Party at BLANK SPACE –  A venue which may be described as the following “COFFEE SHOP meets WINE BAR meets CONTEMPORARY ART LOUNGE meets MODERN Art installation GALLERY meets struggling ARTIST workspace”… etc…  It was a friendly gathering of mom’s and dad’s, contributors, writers, and photographers over Southern delights, wine, and COOKIES. And not just any kind of cookies but DESIGNER cookies.  yum.  And oh yes, there was  ping-pong.

FRIDAY, however, was the day I was most anticipating, literally counting down the hours.  I had been invited on a Girls Only excursion to the brand spanking new Waldorf Astoria to lounge poolside – Margaritas and  piña coladas were on the menu, and heels and giant hats would be required.  UM YES!  I got the OK from the boss to take a half day, made an appointment at Depiwax and even designed a logo in honor of the occasion, that said it all –  “I LIKE FUN.”

…but that morning the thunder rolled, and the rain followed, and my hopes of sunbathing in the presence of hot pool boys with drink trays began to slip away…. Sarah, the mastermind behind our ‘funday’ was not about to let a little rain ruin our day, and had a back up plan that involved less travel.  So we suited up with heels, hats, and obnoxiously big sunglasses and hit the road.  We made a quick stop for a few beach towels and a hula-hoop, then arrived at our destination – The Red Fox Lounge pool.  Who needs the Waldorf when you  have the Mt. Vernon Best Western  just a few miles down the road.  If you are a local and you haven’t been there, do yourself a favor and go – it’s sure to make you smile and take you back about four decades.  We had a blast, avoided most of the rain, and still drank poolside.  And the best part was the look on the guys faces as the four of us strutted through the pool gate in designer heels and hats, channeling Sex and the City, and carrying a hula-hoop.  Priceless.

I originally didn’t have any plans for SATURDAY night, but Sarah, her sister, and her hubby took me hostage and we hit KUSH ULTRA LOUNGE, where the walls and sleek modern furniture are white, the air is thick with cotton candy flavored hookah smoke,  and the owner, Gary Schwartz, is super friendly.  I had the pleasure meeting all of the Schwartz brothers that evening and I had my debut in the KUSH VIP ROOM, all of it captured camera.

On SUNDAY I attended another girls only event, Pinklight Bazaar.  It was my first time and I absolutely adored it!  Emma Kruch is responsible for this ladies night, held at Redlight, Redlight, and I have to say, “Job well done!”  If you love cute girly things, dressing up, browsing through vintage clothing racks, flaunting your femininity, eating miniature gourmet cupcakes, drinking pink champagne, and supporting local ARTS – this is the one event you simply cannot miss.

Last but certainly not least, TUESDAY, JUN 8th – the highly anticipated gig at BACK BOOTH, had arrived.  I was slightly nervous but more than anything I was excited!  The set list was in perfect order, people had purchased their tickets, the band had rehearsed, and I had the perfectly styled look thanks to DRESSED HAUTE.  We got up on that stage and nailed it!  I hadn’t felt that good about a performance in a long time.  The crowd was awesome – so supportive.  I hope there will be more gigs like that!  What a rush of adrenaline!

I was so hyped up after the show, that sleep was not an option, so I hit TAKEOVR just in time to experience the awesomeness that is AFROJACK, and it was sick, even better was experiencing it from the top booth.

If you missed my show this past Tuesday, you can catch me tonight, Friday, JUN 11 at The Peacock Room @ 10:00pm – I’ll be opening for the Actomatics.  Very cheeky indeed.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

